RemedyBG»Forums
6 posts
Hello and why couldn't I set a breakpoint?
Edited by ppbitb on Reason: Initial post
Hi there.

First a bit of an introduction as I am new to the community. I have been a jack-of-all-trades developer for several years. I have been lucky to get a broad experience, but always with managed languages. In my field there's rarely a business justification 🤮 to go deep.
I have been working my way through Handmade Hero. It's helping me understand things at a deeper level and rekindling a love of programming. Casey is an amazing teacher.

Here is my question: what causes the debugger to be unable to set a breakpoint as in the picture below? The issue disappeared after I went back to older git commits and then back to my latest state. Visual Studio was still able to set a breakpoint.
Edwin Steiner
10 posts
I'm a geek, programmer, physics nerd. ~1986 BASIC on ZX81, then MS-DOS Turbo Pascal + ASM, now mostly C/C++ and Perl; twitch.tv/edwinst
Hello!

I had the same problem and the solution in my case was to turn off incremental linking and to make sure that the project is completely rebuilt (this may also be the reason that it worked for you after a revert / clean).

Be sure to add something like "/INCREMENTAL:NO" to your linker options and clean and rebuild the project. remedybg really hates incrementally linked executables and unfortunately does not give you an error message if you have one, it seems.

Even after adding /INCREMENTAL:NO I sometimes had to clean and rebuild to get good debug functionality. I'm not sure whether some incremental stuff is "sneaked in" by the Microsoft tools or not.

best regards

Edwin
6 posts
Thank you Edwin, I'll be sure to try this.
7 posts
I'm not able to hit a breakpoint on a basic Visual Studio 2019 project either. I turned off incremental link and rebuilt but that didn't change anything.
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects
Do you have /Z7 ir /Zi debug information format? /Zl may not work well.